The Lake Country Sun received several awards from the West Texas Press Association Better Newspaper Contest, with the results announced at the association's annual convention last week in Decatur. Awards were a first place for column writing, a first place in photography, second places for general excellence and honorable mention in news writing. In addition, managing editor Mark Engebretson received Photographer of the Year and a second place Journalist of the Year award. "I am always thrilled when the work of the staff at The Sun is recognized by our peers," said Engebretson. "The people who work at this newspaper care about the communities it serves." Engebretson, who was president of WTPA for 2012-13, was elected chairman of the board. He is also president of the North and East Texas Press Association and on the Texas Press Association Board of Directors. Earlier this year The Sun received several awards from NETPA's Better Newspaper Contest. Awards included a first place for feature writing, second places for feature photos and editorials, a third place for sports and news photos, and a fourth place finish in sweepstakes, a compilation of points from awards in various categories.